You are here

New and Notable Books This Week

 

 The Books We're Excited About this Week

What a Citizen Can Do by Dave Eggers Illustrated by Shawn Harris (Children's Non-Fiction) 

Empowering and timeless, What Can a Citizen Do? is the latest collaboration from the acclaimed duo behind the bestselling Her Right Foot: Dave Eggers and Shawn Harris. This is a book for today's youth about what it means to be a citizen.

Mascot by Antony John (Middle-Grade Fiction)

This witty, heartfelt story about perseverance in the face of adversity is perfect for fans of R. J. Palacio, Cammie McGovern, and John David Anderson.

Noah Savino has been stuck in a wheelchair for months. He hates the way people treat him like he’s helpless now. He’s sick of going to physical therapy, where he isn’t making any progress. He’s tired of not having control over his own body. And he misses playing baseball—but not as much as he misses his dad, who died in the car accident that paralyzed Noah.

Here to Stay by Sara Farizan (Young Adult Fiction)

What happens when a kid who’s flown under the radar for most of high school gets pulled off the bench to make the winning basket in a varsity playoff game? Here to Stay is a painfully honest, funny, authentic story about growing up, speaking out, and fighting prejudice.  

The Mermaid and Mrs. Hancock by Imogen Hermes Gowar (Fiction)

One September evening in 1785, the merchant Jonah Hancock hears urgent knocking on his front door. One of his captains is waiting eagerly on the step. He has sold Jonah’s ship for what appears to be a mermaid.
Read more at https://www.penguin.co.uk/books/1113246/the-mermaid-and-mrs-hancock/#8iQmj6mx2qFWlVQ5.99

She Would Be King by Wayétu Moore (Fiction)

Wayétu Moore’s powerful debut novel, She Would Be King, reimagines the dramatic story of Liberia’s early years through three unforgettable characters who share an uncommon bond.  She Would Be King is a novel of profound depth set against a vast canvas and a transcendent debut from a major new author.

The Dinner List by Rebecca Serle (Fiction)

At one point or another, we’ve all been asked to name five people, living or dead, with whom we’d like to have dinner. Why do we choose the people we do? And what if that dinner was to actually happen? These are the questions Rebecca Serle contends within her utterly captivating novel, THE DINNER LIST, a story imbued with the same delightful magical realism as One Day, and the life-changing romance of Me Before You. 

Accessory to War by Neil Degrasse Tyson and Avis Lang (Science and Technology & History)

In this fascinating foray into the centuries-old relationship between science and military power, acclaimed astrophysicist Neil deGrasse Tyson and writer-researcher Avis Lang examine how the methods and tools of astrophysics have been enlisted in the service of war. 

One Person, No Vote by Carol Anderson (History)

In her New York Times bestseller White Rage, Carol Anderson laid bare an insidious history of policies that have systematically impeded black progress in America, from 1865 to our combustible present. With One Person, No Vote, she chronicles a related history: the rollbacks to African American participation in the vote since the 2013 Supreme Court decision that eviscerated the Voting Rights Act of 1965. Known as the Shelby ruling, this decision effectively allowed districts with a demonstrated history of racial discrimination to change voting requirements without approval from the Department of Justice.​​​​​​​

 

 

 

 

 

 

New Arrivals in Maine Books

Seaweed Chronicles: A World at the Water's Edge Cover Image
A Senator's Eye: Celebrating Maine, Washington, and the Joys of Scraping the Windshield Cover Image
Bimini Twist: A Jane Bunker Mystery Cover Image
I Am Birch Cover Image

New Nonfiction Arrivals at Sherman's

Lands of Lost Borders: A Journey on the Silk Road Cover Image
A Deal with the Devil: The Dark and Twisted True Story of One of the Biggest Cons in History Cover Image
Fly Girls: How Five Daring Women Defied All Odds and Made Aviation History Cover Image
When They Go Low, We Go High: Speeches That Shape the World and Why We Need Them Cover Image

New Fiction Arrivals at Sherman's

Vox Cover Image
Ohio Cover Image
An Unwanted Guest Cover Image
Tailspin Cover Image

New Mysteries at Sherman's

Bring Me Back: A Novel Cover Image
The Word Is Murder: A Novel Cover Image
The Punishment She Deserves: A Lynley Novel Cover Image
Stay Hidden: A Novel (Mike Bowditch Mysteries #9) Cover Image

New Arrivals in Science Fiction and Fantasy

Spinning Silver: A Novel Cover Image
Artemis: A Novel Cover Image
Neil Gaiman's A Study in Emerald Cover Image
The Skaar Invasion (The Fall of Shannara #2) Cover Image

New Arrivals for Children at Sherman's

Neon Leon Cover Image
Mermaid School Cover Image
We Don't Eat Our Classmates Cover Image
All Are Welcome Cover Image

New Arrivals for Young Readers at Sherman's

The Dollar Kids Cover Image
Estranged Cover Image
Lumberjanes Vol. 9 Cover Image
Smack Dab in the Middle of Maybe Cover Image

New Arrivals for Young Adults at Sherman's

Heretics Anonymous Cover Image
Rad Girls Can: Stories of Bold, Brave, and Brilliant Young Women (Rad Women) Cover Image
Beast: A Tale of Love and Revenge Cover Image
The Miseducation of Cameron Post Movie Tie-in Edition Cover Image

New Arrivals in Home Life at Sherman's

Buck, Buck, Moose: Recipes and Techniques for Cooking Deer, Elk, Moose, Antelope and Other Antlered Things Cover Image
Authentic Recipes from China: 80 Simple and Delicious Recipes from the Middle Kingdom Cover Image
Authentic Recipes from Japan Cover Image
The Picnic: Recipes and Inspiration from Basket to Blanket Cover Image