You are here

The Dawning of the Day (Paperback)

The Dawning of the Day Cover Image
Email or call for price
Hard to Find


This novel in Ogilvie's acclaimed Bennett's Island saga brings attractive Philippa Marshall to the island as the new teacher in the one-room schoolhouse. Life on the island however, is not as peaceful as she had hoped. The islanders are steadfast in their ways and suspicious of Philippa's unorthodox teaching methods. But she finds an ally in tall, quiet Steve Bennett. In the end she must decide, once and for all, whether to make the island her home or leave it forever.

About the Author

Elisabeth Ogilvie grew up in the greater Boston area, but lived in Maine from 1944 until her death in 2006. She has written 46 books including The Seasons Hereafter, Strawberries in the Sea and her memoir My World is an Island. In 1947 she won the New England Women s Press Association award for Storm Tide. Even as a child she was fascinated by the fisherman s life--its freedom and independence, and the excitement of the sea. She knew then that she would either marry a fisherman herself or write about Maine s coastal fishing communities for the rest of her life. She remains one of Maine s best loved writers."
Product Details
ISBN: 9780892724642
ISBN-10: 0892724641
Publisher: Down East Books
Publication Date: August 1st, 1999
Pages: 308
Language: English
Series: Ogilvie Lovers Trilogy