You are here

The God of the Woods: A Novel (Hardcover)

The God of the Woods: A Novel By Liz Moore Cover Image
$30.00
On Our Shelves Now
Sherman's of Boothbay Harbor
2 on hand, as of Jul 13 12:06pm
Sherman's of Bar Harbor
6 on hand, as of Jul 13 12:06pm
Sherman's of Portland
2 on hand, as of Jul 13 12:06pm
Sherman's of Rockland
2 on hand, as of Jul 13 12:06pm
Sherman's of Topsham
2 on hand, as of Jul 13 12:06pm
Sherman's of Windham
2 on hand, as of Jul 13 12:06pm

July 2024 Indie Next List


“Liz Moore is on another level. The God of the Woods is the best kind of twisty story — not everyone is who they say they are, not everyone can be trusted, and everyone has something to hide. A missing person tale unlike any other.”
— Sarah Hutton, Village Books (WA), Bellingham, WA

Description


A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

The God of the Woods should be your next summer mystery.The Washington Post


“Extraordinary . . . Reminds me of Donna Tartt’s 1992 debut, The Secret History . . . I was so thoroughly submerged in a rich fictional world, that for hours I barely came up for air.” Maureen Corrigan, Fresh Air, NPR

Riveting from page one to the last breathless word. —Rebecca Makkai, New York Times bestselling author of I Have Some Questions For You

When a teenager vanishes from her Adirondack summer camp, two worlds collide


Early morning, August 1975: a camp counselor discovers an empty bunk. Its occupant, Barbara Van Laar, has gone missing. Barbara isn’t just any thirteen-year-old: she’s the daughter of the family that owns the summer camp and employs most of the region’s residents. And this isn’t the first time a Van Laar child has disappeared. Barbara’s older brother similarly vanished fourteen years ago, never to be found.

As a panicked search begins, a thrilling drama unfolds. Chasing down the layered secrets of the Van Laar family and the blue-collar community working in its shadow, Moore’s multi-threaded story invites readers into a rich and gripping dynasty of secrets and second chances. It is Liz Moore’s most ambitious and wide-reaching novel yet.

About the Author


Liz Moore is the author of the New York Times bestselling novel Long Bright River, which was a Good Morning America Book Club pick and one of Barack Obama’s favorite books of the year, as well as the acclaimed novels Heft and The Unseen World. A winner of the 2014-2015 Rome Prize in Literature, she lives in Philadelphia.

Praise For…


Praise for The God of the Woods:

The God of the Woods, like The Secret History, transports readers so deeply into its richly peopled, ominous world that, for hours, everything else falls away. . . . Breaking free of the spell Moore casts is close to impossible.”
—Washington Post
 
“A hugely satisfying novel serves both thrills and trenchant observations. . . . Moore cleverly guides us through that tangle of trails, to a thrilling and unexpected conclusion.”
Boston Globe

“Liz Moore’s extraordinary new literary suspense novel reminds me of Donna Tartt’s 1992 debut, The Secret History. . . . [T]he vital connection for me was a reading experience where I was so thoroughly submerged in a rich fictional world, that for hours I barely came up for air. . . . The precision of Moore’s writing never flags. . . . Unforgettable.”
—Maureen Corrigan, Fresh Air, NPR

"Her fictional summer camp felt as vivid to me as my own."
The New York Times

"An unusually gratifying reading experience . . . Three days after you turn the last page, your head is still half in it. It's as if you can smell the pine and wood smoke. . . . Moore has written an atmospheric family drama, a social novel and the best kind of missing persons story, one that's fun to read and think about.”
—Marion Winnik, Minneapolis Star Tribune

“Intercutting past and present, Moore keeps the suspense at a fever pitch amid nuanced portraits of the out-of-touch Van Laars, their hangers-on and the locals who both depend on and resent them. A winner.” 
People 

Clear your afternoon: This absorbing story, told by a compelling cast of characters, is unputdownable.”
Real Simple

Part riveting thriller and part family drama, Liz Moore’s novel plays on the uncomfortable truths of favoritism and family dynamics in this nail-biter that will keep you from wandering alone in the woods for quite some time.”
Huffington Post

An immersive reading experience that will draw audiences. Its explorations of class, crime, and family dynamics, in addition to Moore’s incredible storytelling, will appeal to readers of Lisa Jewell, Tana French, and Lucy Foley.”
Library Journal, STARRED review

Rich in background detail and secondary mysteries . . . this ever-expansive, intricate, emotionally engaging novel never seems overplotted. Every piece falls skillfully into place and every character, major and minor, leaves an imprint.”
Kirkus, STARRED review

Gripping and revelatory . . . The beautiful and dangerous wilderness setting enhances the suspense as the narrative builds to a dramatic final act. . . . This astonishes.”
Publishers Weekly,
STARRED review

“A compulsively readable novel that will appeal to fans of mysteries and historical fiction alike.”
Booklist, STARRED review

Riveting from page one to the last breathless word, The God of the Woods is about the many ways we find and lose both ourselves and others. This book flew by at lightning speed, but will stick with me for a very long time.”
—Rebecca Makkai, New York Times bestselling author of I Have Some Questions For You

“A brilliant, riveting fox trap of a novelan epic mystery, a family saga and a survival guide. Liz Moore shows us how easy it is for any of us to get lost in the woods, and what to do if you want to be found. I loved this book.” 
—Miranda Cowley Heller, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Paper Palace

“A riveting tale of a missing child that widens into a vast, acute portrait of youth, friendship, family secrets, and conflicting social circles. Intelligently done, and with a gimlet eye for telling detail, it’s a brilliant trap full of secrets and lies.”
—Douglas Stuart, Booker Prize winning author of Shuggie Bain
 
A rare gem, an immersive and enthralling literary thriller: a novel about love in the aftermath of tragedy, and about families of the very best—and the worst—kind.”
—Paula Hawkins, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Girl on the Train


Product Details
ISBN: 9780593418918
ISBN-10: 0593418913
Publisher: Riverhead Books
Publication Date: July 2nd, 2024
Pages: 496
Language: English