You are here

Beetle Boy (Paperback)

Beetle Boy Cover Image
$6.99
Usually Ships in 2 Days

Description


The glorious start to a middle grade trilogy about a brilliant boy, his loyal friends, and some amazing beetles--perfect for Roald Dahl and Stuart Gibbs fans!

* "Even the most squeamish will be charmed." --Publishers Weekly, starred review

"A cracking mystery adventure, with plenty of Roald Dahl-esque humor to engage readers." --The Bookseller (UK)

"Truly great storytelling." --Michael Morpurgo, author of War Horse

Darkus Cuttle can't believe his eyes when a huge insect drops off the pants leg of his horrible new neighbor. It's a giant beetle -- and it seems to want to communicate.

But how can a boy be friends with a beetle? And what does a beetle have to do with the disappearance of his dad and the arrival of the terrifying Lucretia Cutter, with her taste for creepy fashion?

The first book of a trilogy, Beetle Boy is a darkly hilarious adventure full of exotic beetles, daring schemes, and true friendship.

About the Author


M.G. Leonard is senior digital media producer at the National Theatre of Great Britain, where she creates podcasts and documentaries about making theater. Beetle Boy, her debut novel and book one of The Beetle Trilogy, was a Publishers Weekly and New York Public Library Best Book of the Year. She lives in Brighton, England, with her family. You can visit her online at www.mgleonard.com and follow her on Twitter at @MGLnrd.

Praise For…


Praise for Beetle Boy:

A Spring 2016 Kids' Indie Next List pick

* "Debut novelist Leonard gives readers a rare glimpse into the world of insects, mixing adventure, mystery, and science to create a story that's much more than just a novel about bugs. Even the most squeamish will be charmed." --Publishers Weekly, starred review

"I loved Beetle Boy. It is at once engaging, creepy (bound to be), funny and full of excitement. Truly great storytelling." --Micharl Morpurgo, author of War Horse

"Engaging . . . The story moves quickly, and the characters are both wacky and entertaining. Educators looking for fiction that connects to and supports science curricula may find a new favorite in this" --School Library Journal

"Leonard unravels the madcap plot in sporadic bursts of frenzied action and humor. Overall, a charming and (at times) affecting romp through beetle land." --Kirkus Reviews

"Fans of madcap adventures and anthropomorphised sidekicks will enjoy this fast-paced series opener." --Booklist

"Hand this to students who like to laugh and who like their mysteries combined with adventure." --School Library Connection

"If I didn't already devote most of my waking hours to beetles, reading this book would make me want to . . . " --Max Barclay, Coleoptera Collections Manager, Natural History Museum, London

"M.G. Leonard does a fantastic job weaving a page turning mystery with cool facts about science and bugs . . . If you love Roald Dahl, Lemony Snickett, or even 101 Dalmatians you are truly going to enjoy this book." --YA and Kids Books Central (online)

"[M.G. Leonard's] dialogue is dark and punchy and her plot thrilling; by the end you can do nothing but hail her as an original new voice in children's literature. I predict Beetle-mania." --The Times (UK)

"What really makes this book memorable is the supporting cast, researched in fascinating detail . . . The discovery that a seemingly powerless band of creatures can be possessed of such skill, beauty, and strength should keep this gem on many a bedroom and library shelf for years to come." --The Guardian (UK)

"Leonard's rich storytelling channels the spirit of classic children's fiction with a wholly original slant . . . It's a cracking mystery adventure, with plenty of Roald Dahl-esque humor to engage readers . . . A truly exciting debut." --The Bookseller (UK)

"Parents be warned: this enchanting story is likely to make beetles very popular pets." --Daily Telegraph (UK)

"If you've always regarded beetles as something unpleasant to be chased away from picnics, then this romp of a mystery thriller may change your attitude . . . . By the end young readers will have absorbed a huge amount of information on this resilient species." --Daily Mail (UK)

"Perfect for fans of Roald Dahl." --Booktrust (UK)

"A detective story with a twist, this is an exciting and original story that will appeal equally to boys and girls and -- if I'm anything to go by -- to any adult who loves a cracking story. Prepare for the Battle of the Beetles!" --The Bookbag (online)
Product Details
ISBN: 9780545853477
ISBN-10: 0545853478
Publisher: Chicken House
Publication Date: May 30th, 2017
Pages: 304
Language: English
Series: Beetle Boy